What is Celiac Disease?
Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder in which the villi of the small intestine are damaged by specific peptides (protein) known as gluten, and nutrients are not properly absorbed. While there is currently no cure for celiac disease, following a strict gluten-free diet can help manage the disease, control symptoms, and prevent complications.

Which Foods Contain Gluten?
Gluten is most commonly found in foods containing grains such as breads, pastas, cereals, and baked goods. However, it is not uncommon to find gluten in other foods such as processed meals and snacks, marinades, sauces, and seasonings. It is essential to read the labels on food packaging to ensure products are gluten free.

Shopping Gluten Free
Eating gluten free requires consumers to read the ingredient list on food labels carefully. It is vital to learn the items not permitted, including hidden sources (note “wheat free” does not necessarily mean “gluten free”). There are strict guidelines from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for labeling items as gluten free, but there are currently no requirements to label gluten-free foods as “gluten free”. So, some gluten-free products might be labeled while others may not. If there is a product you are unsure about, contact the manufacturer and ask if any of the ingredients are derived from wheat, barley, rye, or triticale, contain gluten, or have been produced in a facility containing these ingredients.

Always Avoid
Barley Emmer (Wheat) Semolina (Wheat)
Bulgur (Wheat) Kamut Spelt (Wheat)
Durum (Wheat) Khorasa (Wheat) Triticale
Einkorn (Wheat) Rye Wheat
Avoid Unless Labeled Gluten Free
Beer Croutons Processed Meat
Breads French Fries Rice Mixes
Cakes Gravies Salad Dressing
Candies Imitation Meat Sauces
Cereals Marinades Seasonings
Chips Matzo Soup
Cookies Oats Soup Bases
Crackers Pasta Vegetables in Sauce
Pies
Gluten-Free Grains
Amaranth Oats* Rice
Buckwheat Quinoa Sorghum
Millet Teff

*Oats are often processed in a facility which processes wheat

Gluten Free Shopping List

Fresh Fruits
Fresh Vegetables
Beans
Fresh Meats (without added marinades)
Low Fat Dairy (minimally processed)
Frozen Fruits & Vegetables (without added sauces)
Flours & Grains: Corn, Millet, Rice, Quinoa, Sorghum, Teff, Amaranth, Buckwheat, Soy, Potato Flours, Flax, Tapioca

If you need a little more time to learn about gluten and how it fits into your diet, schedule a consultation or other service with one of our in-store Registered Dietitians who can help you learn more or build a plan unique just to you!

Don’t forget to find the Reasor’s Registered Dietitians on Facebook at Reasor’s Healthy Living or on Instagram at @reasorshealthyliving to get access to updates, giveaways, nutrition tips, and more!

Information included does not constitute medical advice and should only be used as a general recommendation for a healthy, balanced diet and lifestyle. Reasor’s Registered Dietitians’ opinions and recommendations are their own; they are not paid to endorse any products or services.